In Which I Bike Like A Grownup

I have a weakness as a “serious” biker.

I like to be able to touch the ground.

With both feet.

Surprisingly, because my road bike has the world’s lowest bottom bracket, I can actually squeak through with adequate leg extension. The downside is that I have to watch how I turn corners, but that’s easy enough.

On my other bikes, not so much. Especially on my mountain bike. You see, on a mountain bike, you are supposed to be riding over rocks and roots and stuff. People seem worried that you will hit your chainrings or cranks. So the bottom bracket drop is less. And the tires are tall. To ride without killing my knees, I am sitting a long way from the ground.

I am having to learn how to lean in order to put my foot down at a stop.

Hold me.

Leave a Reply

