North American Handmade Bike Show, Part One

I had the rare good luck to attend the 2011 North American Handmade Bicycle Show. The photos I took are, across the board, not that great. My camera flash dealt me misery. I’m going to post them here anyway, though, because they showcase some really nice bikes. I have two clusters of photos, based on what my companion and I were keeping our eyes on. In Part One I’m giving you the “ladies’ city bike” photos. This is not an exhaustive list by any means. Bikes were in and out of booths for photo shoots, some photos didn’t turn out at all, and some booths were just too crowded.

I was especially disappointed that my pictures of the ANT bikes “Boston Roadster” turned out so poorly. A black bike in a black booth completely defeated my little point and shoot. What I did get is this tantalizing detail of the skirt guard:

P2270281

You can see better photos on the ANT site, here.

The Independent Fabrications offering in this genre was drawing a lot of attention, but I found the harsh and dramatic paint job a little off-putting:

P2270274

P2270276

I’m also not sure if this bike is intended to scale up into larger production, or if it was just a one-off for the show. I believe IF does mostly semi-custom, and this bike wasn’t an option on their website last I checked.

Retrotec brought their customary curves to a mixte frame as well, going for a very feminine pink and grey look:

P2270277

With a charming chain cover:
P2270279

Sycip’s version is much less fussy, and more to my liking:

P2270252

My favorite was in some ways the most utilitarian of them at all, but it had a kind of quiet charm:

P2270260

This is the True Fabrication spin, and I loved it. The grey is a little industrial, but otherwise I was quite smitten with the frame’s lack of frills.

Leave a Reply

